CrossOver for Mac (or: Run Windows apps Inside OSX)

In previous posts I have written how I have changed over from Windows to Mac OSX, and how I am running OSX as my main OS. I also wrote that I used Parallels as my virtualization environment, so I can run Windows in a Virtual Machine. That works extremely well and I’m doing all my teaching, playing with research of technologies from the VM. The VM is still a bit of an overkill if you just want to run a particular Windows application – say PowerPoint (it is still miles better than having a dual boot system using BootCamp and dual-booting into XP).

Anyway, I no longer have to spin up my VM if I just want to check a slide deck, open a Word document, run some Windows app. Two days ago CodeWeavers launched a beta of their CrossOver for Mac application. This is an application that allows you to run Windows applications from (what looks like) inside OSX. In reality you are running the Windows apps in a sub system using Wine.

I installed it yesterday and promptly installed Office 2003, and it works! I then tried to install other Windows apps – with various degrees of success. This is still a beta and it can only get better – I am really impressed, and if you are on OSX and want to run some Windows app, this is something you should take a look at.

3 Responses to “CrossOver for Mac (or: Run Windows apps Inside OSX)”

  1. Scott Says:

    You can just use Microsoft office for Mac. Everything translates back and forth with no issues. It doesn not have Access or MapPoint however.

  2. Nick Ingrao Says:

    Office 2004 is great BUT! My office uses outlook2003 and I like it to integrate flawlessly on our network. I am not able to import/export my .pst into entourage.

  3. bojic11 Says:

    yeh nice man

    im gonna try CrossOver for Mac, thx for sharing

Leave a Reply

